Bayern chasing trophies and records

Read article contents
Increase size

This Saturday sees the 20th edition of the final of the Supercup, which existed as the DFB Supercup between 1987 and 1996. Since 2010 the competition has been called the DFL Supercup. The German champions have won the cup twelve times, with the challengers coming off better on seven occasions. fcbayern.com has put together more interesting facts and figures about the Supercup. 

Evenly balanced stats

FC Bayern and Borussia Dortmund will meet for the seventh time in total in the Supercup, and the sixth time in the last seven years. No other pairing has been played more than once. With three title wins each, the two teams are evenly balanced. The Reds won the last clash in 2017 on penalties.

Looking to extend record runs

FC Bayern are participating in the Supercup for the 13th time and have won it seven times. This year's edition is the record champions' 8th participation in a row, and they could win the title for a straight 4th time  - all unique record runs by the team from Munich, which can be extended on Saturday. For comparison: Dortmund are taking part in the Supercup for the 10th time and have won it on five occasions.

ThoMats Challenge: Who will become the sole record champion?

Bayern pro Thomas Müller and his long-standing team-mate Mats Hummels have each won the trophy five times (as did Franck Ribéry and Arjen Robben). One of them will become the sole record winner of this competition on Saturday.

Müller and Lewandowski in front

Thomas Müller and Robert Lewandowski could each play for the 9th time in an official Supercup match on Saturday, further extending their records. The two Bayern pros already share the top spot ahead of their captain Manuel Neuer and the two former Reds Philipp Lahm and Mats Hummels (each with six appearances).

Share this article

Related news