The best facts on Bayern's 8th straight Bundesliga title

Read article contents
Increase size

An eighth straight Bundesliga title takes FC Bayern onto 30 German championships in the club's 120-year historyfcbayern.com has picked out some of the best facts from this historic 2019/20 triumph. 

1. A unique run 

Prior to FCB's current run of eight consecutive titles, no team had ever won the Bundesliga more than three seasons in a row. Having won 29 of the 57 campaigns played since the league was founded in 1963, Bayern have now brought over half of the titles home to Munich. 

2. At the very top

Thomas Müller and David Alaba both celebrated their ninth Bundesliga title, making them the league's most decorated players alongside Franck Ribery, who lifted his final Meisterschale last season.

3. Five record holders in the squad

With Alaba, Müller, Manuel Neuer, Javi Martinez and Jerome Boateng, five current Bayern players are celebrating an eighth straight title, which is another league record.

4. European summit

FCB are also at the top in comparison to other European leagues, where Juventus are the only other club in the continent's top five leagues with a comparable title-winning streak. The Italians could yet win their ninth title in a row this season. The record for Europe's longest run of titles is shared by Lincoln of Gibraltar and Skonto of Latvia, with both clubs winning the league 14 years in a row.

5. Flick in Beckenbauer's footsteps


Hansi Flick is only the third coach in Bundesliga history, after Franz Beckenbauer in 1993/94 and Jupp Heynckes in 2017/18, to take over mid-season and go on to win the title. And all three managed it with FC Bayern. In addition, Flick is the first German coach since Beckenbauer to win the Bundesliga in his first season as coach.

6. Fifth title in total 

Flick is the 27th coach to lift the Meisterschale, but he's doing so for the fifth time after his four titles as a player with Bayern. Only seven other title-winning coaches had previously won the Bundesliga as players too, and only Beckenbauer (Bayern), Matthias Sammer (Borussia Dortmund), Thomas Schaaf (Werder Bremen) and Niko Kovac (Bayern) had done so with the same club.

7. The first time 

For ten players in the Munich squad, this is their first Bundesliga title: Lucas Hernandez, Benjamin Pavard, Alvaro Odriozola, Michael Cuisance, Philippe Coutinho, Sarpreet Singh, Fiete Arp, Oliver Batista-Meier, Leon Dajaku and Joshua Zirkzee.

8. Coman guarantees titles 


Kingsley Coman may only be 24, but this is his eighth league title. In fact, the winger has been a champion in every season of his senior career. He won the title in France with Paris Saint-Germain in 2013 and 2014, in Italy with Juventus in 2015 and has been racking up the Bundesliga medals with Bayern since 2016.

9 . Neuer the top keeper

Neuer's eighth career title brings him level with Oliver Kahn. No goalkeeper has been crowned German champion more times. 

10. Only two champions from New Zealand

Sarpreet Singh becomes only the second New Zealander to win the Bundesliga, following in the footsteps of Wynton Rufer for Bremen in 1992/93.  

Bayern are also on course for another trophy this season, in the DFB Cup. You can find all the facts on that below: