5 facts on the Supercup against Dortmund

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern have the chance to claim their fifth trophy of the year on Wednesday evening. To do that, they’ll need to overcome Borussia Dortmund in the Supercup. We’ve put together the most interesting facts and figures ahead of the showdown at the Allianz Arena.

1. Classic matchup in Supercup too

Time for revenge! FCB lost 2-0 to BVB in the 2019 edition.

This is the eighth time that Bayern and Dortmund are meeting in the German Supercup. In fact, it’s the only pairing that has featured more than once. FCB’s record needs a bit of work, though, showing just two wins to Dortmund’s four, as well as one draw and trailing 15-11 on goal difference.

2. Record winners against nearest challengers

The Reds won the domestic Supercup for the seventh time in 2018, making them the standalone record holders in the competition. Dortmund cut the gap to one in 2019, when they claimed their sixth title with a 2-0 win over Bayern.

The last triumph: Bayern thrashed Eintracht Frankfurt 5-0 in 2018, with Robert Lewandowski scoring a hat-trick.

3. Supercup specialists

The German record champions are contesting the Supercup for the ninth year in a row. You have to go back to 2011 for the last time the Munich men weren’t involved in this one-off match, when cup winners Schalke beat Bundesliga champions Borussia Dortmund 4-3 on penalties. Overall, it’s Bayern’s 14th time in the Supercup, which is a record. BVB are next with 11 appearances.

4. Müller chasing Hummels

Thomas Müller is already a record Bundesliga winner (nine titles), and now he wants to reach the top in the Supercup as well. The Bavarian has lifted the trophy five times previously. Only Mats Hummels has achieved this more often, with the centre-back winning the Supercup six times (three each with FCB and BVB), but not playing in two of them, after losing his first two appearances with Dortmund.

Müller and Hummels don't just compete with each other for trophies on the pitch:

5. 21st edition of Supercup

The Supercup has been staged annually by the DFL since its revival in 2010, having beein previously organised by the DFB between 1987 and 1996. The league winners have won it 12 times, while the opposing team have triumphed on eight occasions.

Related news