Alphonso Davies nominated for Golden Boy award

Read article contents
Increase size

Alphonso Davies has been named in the final 20-man shortlist for the 2020 Golden Boy award. The 19-year-old left-back has already claimed five trophies with Germany’s record champions this year, and could now win further personal accolades. The Canadian was already voted the Bundesliga’s Rookie of the Season in June. The Golden Boy is awarded annually for Europe’s best player under the age of 21.

Who will succeed Joao Felix?

Davies is on the shortlist alongside fellow Bundesliga duo Erling Haaland and Jadon Sancho of Borussia Dortmund. The 2019 winner was Joao Felix of Atletico Madrid, who Bayern will face in their first group game of this season’s Champions League. The Golden Boy award has been presented by Italian newspaper Tuttosport since 2003 and is voted on by international sports journalists.

Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news