FC Bayern dominate UEFA positional awards

Read article contents
Increase size

The FC Bayern triumph train rolls on! The treble winners dominated the positional awards for the past Champions League season, with three out of four going to the record champions.

Manuel Neuer best goalkeeper


Manuel Neuer deservedly secured the title of best goalkeeper. The Bayern captain played in all 11 games in the Champions League, keeping six clean sheets, and beat Keylor Navas (Paris Saint-Germain) and Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid) to the award. "We have a special team and a special spirit, we really wanted it. It was extra special for those who were there in 2013. We built up our confidence over the course of the season and always stayed focussed," said the 34-year-old. "For me as a goalkeeper, it’s always important to be there for the crucial moments."

Joshua Kimmich best defender 


Joshua Kimmich was named defender of the year. The 25-year-old Germany international won the final vote against his two teammates David Alaba and Alphonso Davies. Like Neuer, Kimmich played in all 11 games of the last UCL season, scored two goals and assisted three more. "A dream has come true," said Kimmich at the ceremony. "There were so many wonderful moments in the last Champions League season, but of course the feeling of lifting the trophy was the greatest."

Robert Lewandowski best striker


Robert Lewandowski picked up the prize in the striker category. The top scorer from last season's Champions League finished ahead of Kylian Mbappé and Neymar from Paris Saint-Germain. The 32-year-old Pole achieved a whopping 15 goals and six assists in ten Champions League games. "The final and the celebrations were of course unforgettable. It was a great season. The most important thing for me is to help the team, even though I love to score goals," said Lewandowski. "After losing the final with Dortmund in 2013, I said to myself that I would never give up and I really wanted to win this trophy. It's a great feeling. "

Manchester City's Kevin de Bruyne won the best midfielder award. The Belgian prevailed against Thomas Müller and ex-FCB man Thiago.

Related news