Our four newcomers get their shirt numbers

Read article contents
Increase size

Shortly before the end of the early-season transfer window, FC Bayern added four new players to the first team squad. Douglas Costa, Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Bouna Sarr and Marc Roca have now joined the German record champions and will be wearing the following numbers on their backs:

#11 - Douglas Costa


During his first period in Munich between 2015 and 2017, Douglas Costa played 77 competitive matches for Bayern. During this period, the Brazilian, who is now 30 years old, whizzed the number 11 up and down the left and right flanks, and scored an impressive 41 goals. No wonder, then, that the loan signing from Juventus wants to reclaim the number 11 for his return to Bavaria (to the jersey). Costa takes over the number from Michaël Cuisance, who has left FC Bayern to join Olympique Marseille on loan.

#13 - Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting


Number 13 is anything but unlucky for Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (to the jersey). The attacker wore this number both in his time at Schalke 04 (2014 to 2017), where he scored 22 goals and notched up 17 assists, and for the Cameroon national team. Prior to Choupo-Moting, Rafinha wore the number 13 at FC Bayern for eight years.

#20 - Bouna Sarr


The number 20 will be used from now on by right-back Bouna Sarr (to the jersey). He thus follows in the footsteps of José Ernesto Sosa (2007 to 2011) and current board member for sport Hasan Salihamidžić (1998 to 2007), who similarly to Sosa played mostly on the right wing. In the more recent past, Sebastian Rode (2014 to 2016) also wore the 20.

#22 - Marc Roca


For two years Serge Gnabry wore the 22 shirt before he changed to the 7 at the start of this season. From now on, midfielder Marc Roca will wear the number 22, which is now of course available (to the jersey). Fun fact: Before Gnabry, it had only ever been goalkeepers who'd worn the number 22 on their back at Bayern, including Tom Starke (2012 to 2018), Jörg Butt (2008 to 2012), Michael Rensing (2003 to 2008) and Bernd Dreher (1996 to 2003).

Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news