Four Bayern treble winners nominated for The Best FIFA Football Awards

Read article contents
Increase size

Three current and one former members of Bayern’s 2020 treble-winning squad have been nominated for The Best FIFA Football Awards, with voting taking place online until 9 December. The winners of The Best FIFA Men’s Player, The Best FIFA Men’s Coach and other awards will be announced on 17 December in Zurich.  

Second accolade for Lewandowski?


FIFA announced the 11 nominees for the world’s best player in 2020 on Wednesday, which includes Bayern striker Robert Lewandowski, who was already named UEFA Men’s Player of the Year in October. As well as him, long-time FCB midfielder Thiago has also been nominated, with current holder and six-time Ballon d’Or winner Lionel Messi leading the list.

Neuer on verge of fifth goalkeeper gong

The captain gives his support: Manuel Neuer played a major role in the UCL triumph with a clean sheet in six of the eleven games and strong saves in the semi-final and final.

Bayern captain Manuel Neuer has a very good chance to be named The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper. The 34-year-old had previously won the then unofficial IFFHS World’s Best Goalkeeper award four years in a row between 2013 and 2016. Neuer is up alongside five other keepers for the accolade as they battle to succeed Liverpool’s Alisson.

Will Flick follow in Klopp’s footsteps?

The architect of success: Hansi Flick took over from Niko Kovač in the autumn of 2019 and led FC Bayern to three titles without defeat in 2020 (25 wins, one draw) .

The fourth of Bayern’s treble winners up for an award is Hansi Flick, who is favourite to be named The Best FIFA Men’s Coach. The 55-year-old also won the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year in October and could now follow on from Jürgen Klopp as the winner of the FIFA award. Flick is up against four other coaches.

Rummenigge and Hainer delighted by nominations 

“We’re proud that Robert Lewandowski and Thiago have been nominated for the player of the year for their performances with Bayern, Manuel Neuer as the world’s best goalkeeper and Hansi Flick as coach of the year. It’s recognition of the outstanding performances of our entire team in recent months. FC Bayern made history in the Champions League. That was perceived around the world,” said FC Bayern CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.

President Herbert Hainer added: “FC Bayern has achieved something extraordinary this season. Five titles makes this the most successful year in our history. That’s been acknowledged on the global stage with these nominations. Our fans can be proud of what our club has achieved this year.”

Vote now for Bayern’s nominees

As well as the captains and coaches of every national team and over 200 media representatives, fans can also take part in the vote. You can cast your vote online until 9 December. The winners will then be revealed in a virtual ceremony in Zurich on 17 December.

The full nominees:

The Best FIFA Men’s PlayerThe Best FIFA Men’s CoachThe Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern)
Thiago (Bayern/ Liverpool)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
Hansi Flick (Bayern)
Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds United)
Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool)
Julen Lopetegui (Sevilla)
Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)
Manuel Neuer (Bayern)
Alisson Becker (Liverpool)
Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
Keylor Navas (Paris Saint-Germain)
Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)
Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)


Robert Lewandowski already picked up the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award in October:

Related news