Lewandowski and Neuer nominated for The Best FIFA Football Awards

Read article contents
Increase size

Bayern could see a double title defence at The Best FIFA Football Awards after reigning world's best player Robert Lewandowski and world's best goalkeeper Manuel Neuer were again named among the candidates by football's governing body on Monday.

Vote for Lewandowski and Neuer until 10 December

Before the winners are crowned at an event in Zurich on 17 January 2022, FIFA will cut the shortlists to a final three at the start of next year. As well as an international jury, the current captains and coaches of the world's national teams, and selected football journalists, fans around the world can also vote. That means all Bayern supporters have until 10 December to cast their votes for Lewandowski and Neuer.

Click here to vote!
Lewandowski and Neuer cleaned up at The Best FIFA Football Awards in 2020 – can they now defend their titles?

Lewandowski going for double

Lewandowski capped off a superb last year by being named the Best FIFA Men's Player for the first time in his career, also becoming the first player from Poland to be the world's best. The 33-year-old is once again among the favourites for the honour in 2021 and could become the first player since Cristiano Ronaldo in 2016 and 2017 to retain his crown.

The nominees for the Best FIFA Men’s Player

Country / club
Karim Benzema
France / Real Madrid
Kevin De Bruyne
Belgium / Manchester City
Cristiano Ronaldo
Portugal / Juventus, Manchester United
Erling Haaland
Norway / Borussia Dortmund
Italy / Chelsea
N’Golo Kante
France / Chelsea
Robert Lewandowski
Poland / Bayern Munich
Kylian Mbappe
France / Paris Saint-Germain
Lionel Messi
Argentina / Barcelona, Paris Saint-Germain
Brazil / Paris Saint-Germain
Mohamed Salah
Egypt / Liverpool

Neuer can become the outright best

Bayern's No.1 has been named the best goalkeeper in the world five times over his career, which is currently the most together with Iker Casillas and Gianluigi Buffon. The FCB captain also won unofficial awards four years in a row between 2013 and 2016, before claiming the Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper award last year. If he retains his title in 2021, he'll be the outright best ever.

The nominees for the Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

Country / club
Alisson Becker
Brazil / Liverpool
Gianluigi Donnarumma
Italy / AC Milan, Paris Saint-Germain
Edouard Mendy
Senegal / Chelsea
Manuel Neuer
Germany / Bayern Munich
Kasper Schmeichel
Denmark / Leicester City

Check out the best photos from last year's The Best FIFA Football Awards:

Flick also nominated

Hansi Flick has again been named on the shortlist for this year's Best FIFA Men's Coach. The 56-year-old was Bayern boss until the summer and has since taken on the job as Germany head coach. His rivals are Antonio Conte (Inter Milan/Tottenham Hotspur), Italy's Euro 2020-winning coach Roberto Mancini, Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Argentina national team boss Lionel Scaloni, Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid), and fellow German Thomas Tuchel, who led Chelsea to the Champions League title last season.

Lewandowski and Neuer are also hopeful of awards at the Ballon d'Or ceremony in November:

Share this article