Manuel Neuer on The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper shortlist

Read article contents
Increase size

Will our number one manage to defend his title?  It was announced by football's world governing body on Wednesday afternoon that Manuel Neuer is once again among the three finalists in the vote for The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper. In addition to Neuer, Italian European champion Gianluigi Donnarumma of Paris Saint-Germain and Senegal's Édouard Mendy of Champions League winners Chelsea complete the top three. Last year, the FC Bayern keeper came out on top ahead of Alisson Becker and Jan Oblak.

Winners to be honoured on 17 January

The winners of The Best FIFA Football Awards will be announced on 17 January in Zurich. In addition to an international jury comprised of the current coaches and captains of all men's national teams, as well as trade journalists, football fans worldwide were also eligible to vote, and had until 10 December to cast their ballots. The three finalists for The Best FIFA Men's Player award, for which defending champion Robert Lewandowski has legitimate hopes, will be announced on Friday.

Last year, Manuel Neuer picked up the award for The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper:

Topics of this article

Share this article

Related news