Rummenigge and Lahm inducted into Hall of Fame

Read article contents
Increase size

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Philipp Lahm have been inducted into the German Football Hall of Fame at the German Football Museum. In addition to the two FC Bayern greats, former national team player Bernd Schuster has also been appointed to the select circle of players. Nine former FC Bayern men were already represented in the Hall of Fame in current CEO Oliver Kahn, Franz Beckenbauer, Gerd Müller, Sepp Maier, Paul Breitner, Lothar Matthäus, Andreas Brehme, Jürgen Klinsmann and Michael Ballack. The additions of Rummenigge and Lahm practically complete an FC Bayern XI.

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge: "After I was inducted into the Italian Hall of Fame in May, I’m now even more delighted that this honour has also been bestowed on me in my home country. It's nice to be called the ‘newest player’ once again. I’d like to thank the jury and congratulate Philipp Lahm as well as Bernd Schuster, with whom I won the European Championship in 1980. Reading the names of the members brings back many memories. Franz Beckenbauer, one of my first mentors, with whom I spent decades together at FC Bayern, as well as Gerd Müller, from whom I was able to learn so much, or Paul Breitner, my wonderful partner in 'Breitnigge' times. They have all accompanied, shaped or promoted my career, and it’s a great recognition for me to now be part of this select circle."

Philipp Lahm: "It’s an incredible honour to be elected to the German Football Hall of Fame. It seems almost unreal to me that I should be given a place there alongside the very great legends of our sport. I didn't know that I was already ready for a museum - but I’m really very happy about this extraordinary award. Congratulations also to Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Bernd Schuster, who were also elected to the Hall of Fame. All I can say is it’s high time!"

Two outstanding careers in German football

Rummenigge (67) was a striker for FC Bayern from 1974 to 1984, winning two Bundesliga titles and DFB Cups each, as well as the European Cup twice and the Intercontinental Cup once. He scored 217 times in 422 competitive matches for the Munich club. He returned as vice-president in 1991 and in 2002 became CEO of the newly created FC Bayern München AG. Until his retirement a year and a half ago, he won a total of 60 titles with the club and was a defining figure in German football both as a player and in his post-playing career. With the national team, for which he scored 45 goals in 95 games, he was European champion in 1980 and runner-up in both the 1982 and 1986 World Cups.

Philipp Lahm was given a farewell at his final match by then FC Bayern CEO Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.

Munich-born Lahm (38) joined FC Bayern at the age of 11 from FT Gern, came through all the youth teams and captained the first team to the Champions League title in 2013. The defensive all-rounder scored 16 goals in 517 games. From 2005 to 2017, he won eight Bundesliga titles, six DFB Cups, three DFL Supercups, one Club World Cup and one European Supercup with his club. He also captained Germany to World Cup glory in 2014 and reached the European Championship final in 2008. He made 113 appearances for the national team (five goals). Since 2018, he has been the head of the organising committee of the European Championship 2024, which will take place in Germany.

Thomas Müller was honoured on Friday as part of the Bavarian Sports Awards:

Related news