Müller's back! Eight Bayern players in Germany EURO squad

Read article contents
Increase size

Heading to the EURO with a strong Bayern core! Germany coach Joachim Löw announced his 26-man squad for the upcoming European Championship on Wednesday. A total of eight Bayern players are in it, including 2014 World Cup winner Thomas Müller, who returns to the national team for the first time since November 2018.

“I’m happy to be part of the national team again,” commented Müller. “In the amicable and open phone calls I had with Joachim Löw before the call-up, we discussed what we expect from each other in the coming weeks. The sporting challenge of representing the German colours again with the boys at a tournament, and the chance to claim the EURO title that comes with it, appeals to me a lot.”

Also included are Manuel Neuer, Niklas Süle, Joshua Kimmich, Serge Gnabry, Leroy Sané, Leon Goretzka and Jamal Musiala. The record champions therefore make up by far the biggest contingent in the German squad.

Eight Bayern players are in Germany’s EURO 2020 squad.

‘At home’ in all three group games

Die Mannschaft will base their training camp in Seefeld, in Tyrol, from 28 May to 6 June. Two friendlies also form part of the preparations for the tournament, against Denmark on 2 June in Innsbruck and against Latvia on 7 June in Düsseldorf. On the day after the game against Latvia, the team will take up quarters for the tournament at the adidas ‘World of Sports’ campus in Herzogenaurach.

Germany open their EURO campaign against world champions France on 15 June. They then face holders Portugal on 19 June, before taking on Hungary in their final group match on 23 June. All three group games are due to be played at Munich’s Allianz Arena.

A number of other countries also announced their squads on Wednesday:

Related news