Bayern with record for Europe’s top five leagues

Read article contents
Increase size

Being crowned champions 10 years in a row is something no team in one of Europe’s top five leagues (England, Spain, Germany, Italy and France) had ever done before 23 April 2022. But that was no longer the case by 20:24 CEST after a 3-1 win over Borussia Dortmund at the Allianz Arena.

Juventus, Lyon, Real Madrid and Manchester United all boast the longest spells as champions in their respective countries, but no teams there have ever been so for a whole decade. It’s yet another display of brilliance across Europe by Germany’s most successful club. We look at the record holders in each league.

Germany: 10 years by Bayern


It’s incredible but now true as the 2021/22 campaign had brought Bayern’s 10th straight title. It all started in 2013, since when FCB have always been called champions of Germany. Key pillars in that run are captain Manuel Neuer and Thomas Müller, who have been there for all of them. Despite challenges from Borussia Dortmund, RB Leipzig, Bayer Leverkusen, Wolfsburg and Schalke, no team has been able to halt FCB’s incredible run at Germany’s summit.

Italy: 9 years by Juventus

Juventus won their ninth Serie A title in a row in 2020.

Juventus were close to claiming the record ahead of Bayern after their dominance in Italy between 2012 and 2020, winning the Scudetto nine years in a row before finishing fourth in 2020/21 and having to hand over the title to Inter Milan.

France: 7 years by Lyon

Lyon were champions of France seven years in a row between 2002 and 2008, seen here with Juninho and Karim Benzema celebrating the last of them.

Lyon defined an era in French football with their seven titles in a row between 2002 and 2008, making them the longest-serving champions in Ligue 1 history. Their run was ended by Bordeaux in 2008/09. Lyon haven’t won the league since.

Spain: 5 years by Real Madrid

Real Madrid in 1989/90 with Germany's Bernd Schuster (top row, second from right).

Real Madrid last won the La Liga title five years in a row between 1986 and 1990, led by the famous Quinta del Buitre. They were five academy products who came into the first team in 1983/84 and continued the club’s success story: Emilio Butragueno (“El Buitre” – The Vulture), Michel, Manolo Sanchis, Martin Vazquez and Miguel Pardeza. Bernd Schuster also played for Real from 1988 and 1990. No team has managed to be champions of Spain for more than three years in a row since Madrid’s five on the bounce.

England: 3 years by Manchester United

Manchester United with Cristiano Ronaldo and manager Sir Alex Ferguson made it three Premier League titles in succession in 2008/09.

Manchester United last made it a hat-trick of Premier League titles from 2007 to 2009, spearheaded by Cristiano Ronaldo. No team is yet to be champions of England for more than three years in succession.

And why should Bayern stop at 10? The 2022/23 campaign presents them a chance to extend that famous run to 11!

Dress like a champion with our 10th title collection HERE!

Thomas Müller is the most decorated player in Bundesliga history with his 11 titles: