Alphonso Davies, FC Bayern

Alphonso Davies named Concacaf Men's Player of the Year 2022

Read article contents
Increase size

Alphonso Davies has been named Concacaf Men's Player of the Year 2022, retaining the title he earned in 2021. Bayern’s Canada international beat compatriot Jonathan David (Lille) as well as Tyler Adams (USA, Leeds United), Andre Blake (Jamaica, Philadelphia Union), Guillermo Ochoa (Mexico, Salernitana) and Christian Pulisic (USA, Chelsea). It’s the first time ever that a player has been named Concacaf Men's Player of the Year in two consecutive years.

“Really an honour”

“It really is an honour to be named the best player in Concacaf. There are so many good players in all areas of Concacaf. Being seen as one of the best is really great for me,” said a proud Davies. “But I also wouldn’t have been able to do it without the help of my teammates. It brings a smile to my face and pushes me on to fight further for our goals.”

Being able to retain his crown is a “great feeling”, David added while also believing he’s a step further than when he won the award in 2021. “I’m a better player than a year ago,“ the full-back stated. He’s now a more patient player, has improved his passing and pays more attention to not neglecting his defensive work when attacking. The conditions at Bayern are ideal for him to continuously improve. “I can learn a lot from all the players here and build them into my game.”

Scorer of Canada’s first World Cup goal

Alphonso Davies Canada Croatia World Cup
Davies’s goal against Croatia in November was Canada’s first ever at a World Cup finals.

The Canada international won the Bundesliga once again with Bayern last year – his fourth league title at the age of just 21. He also competed at last year’s World Cup in Qatar with his national team, becoming the first player ever to score a goal for the Canucks at the World Cup finals.

Each men’s national team coach and captain of Concacaf members received one vote (41 each) for the award, while selected media representatives and fans voting online accounted for a further nine votes each to determine the winner.

Davies was also named Canada’s Men’s Player of the Year in 2022:

Related news