Bayern extend incredible record across Europe’s top five leagues

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern set a new extraordinary record last season by being crowned champions for a 10th year in a row. It’s a feat no other team has ever achieved across Europe’s top five leagues of England, Spain, Germany, Italy and France. Now Thomas Müller & Co. have gone one better by claiming the Bundesliga title for an 11th straight season. Juventus, Lyon, Real Madrid and the two Manchester teams have all set the records in their respective countries, but none have dominated domestically quite like Bayern. We take you through the longest title streaks in each league…

Germany: 11 in a row for Bayern


The 2022/23 Bundesliga title was Bayern’s 11th in a row, with the champions of Germany being called Bayern Munich ever since 2013. Key to that incredible run are captain Manuel Neuer and the legendary Müller, who have been a part of each of those title triumphs. Despite challenges from the likes of Borussia Dortmund, RB Leipzig, Bayer Leverkusen and even Schalke, nobody has been able to stop Bayern’s remarkable streak of success.

Italy: Nine for Juventus

Juventus got their ninth straight Serie A title in 2020.

Just shy of Bayern’s record, Juventus were top dogs in Italy between 2012 and 2020, winning the Scudetto nine times in a row. A fourth-placed finish in 2020/21 saw them well short of champions Inter Milan. AC Milan then claimed the Serie A crown in 2022, before Napoli won it this year.

France: Seven for Lyon

Lyon were champions of France seven years in a row, with the likes of Juninho and Karim Benzema winning it in 2008.

The champions of France for seven years between 2002 and 2008 were Lyon. That record run in Ligue 1 was ended in 2008/09 by Bordeaux. Lyon haven’t won the title since. Paris Saint-Germain won four on the spin between 2013 and 2016.

Spain: Five for Real Madrid

Real Madrid won the title in 1989/90 with Germany’s Bernd Schuster (top row, second from right).

The last time a team won the title five years in a row in Spain was Real Madrid at the end of the 1980s, claiming the La Liga crown from 1986 to 1990. Part of that golden era for Los Blancos were the legendary Quinta del Buitre, referring to five players who came through the youth team together and who broke into the senior squad in 1983/84. They were Emilio Butragueño, Míchel, Manolo Sanchís, Martin Vázquez and Miguel Pardeza. Germany’s Bernd Schuster was also part of the squad from 1988 to 1990. No team in Spain has won the title more than four times in a row since that Real run.

England: City equal United’s record

Manchester United won their third title in a row in 2008/09 with Cristiano Ronaldo and Sir Alex Ferguson.

Manchester City’s third successive title in England’s Premier League has seen them equal the record set by city rivals Manchester United, who’ve achieved a treble of crowns twice, from 1999 to 2001 and again between 2007 and 2009. Pep Guardiola’s side could set a new record next season, but it’ll be some time before they get close to Bayern’s achievement.

Thomas Müller is the most decorated player in Bundesliga history with 12 crowns:

Related news