All you need to know on the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023

Read article contents
Increase size

It's that time again! The FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 is coming up. From 20 July to 20 August, 32 national teams from all over the globe will be competing in Australia and New Zealand for the number one spot. fcbayern.com has everything you need to know about the 9th Women's World Cup.

Eight groups, 32 teams

For the first time, 32 teams are taking part in the finals, up from 24 four years ago. The nations are divided into eight groups of four teams, with the top two teams in each group progressing to the round of 16. Germany, led by national coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg, were drawn alongside Colombia, Morocco and South Korea in Group H. The following FCB women have been selected to represent their countries: Lina Magull, Sydney Lohmann, Klara Bühl and Lea Schüller for Germany, Tuva Hansen for Norway, Magdalena Eriksson for Sweden, Georgia Stanway for England, Pernille Harder for Denmark and Jill Baijings for the Netherlands.


The schedule

The opening match of the 2023 World Cup will be on 20 July, when Tuva Hansen and her Norwegian teammates take on hosts New Zealand. Co-hosts Australia will play the Republic of Ireland on the same day. The DFB team start their campaign with a game against Morocco on 24 July. The knockout stage begins on 5 August with the round of 16 matches, before the quarter-finals take place on 11 and 12 August. The two semi-finals are scheduled for 15 and 16 August, with the final on 20 August.

The venues

Ten stadiums in nine cities have been selected as World Cup venues. Germany will play exclusively in Australia, although four venues are also located in New Zealand. The opening match will be played at Eden Park in Auckland, New Zealand (50,000 spectators). The DFB side will first play at AAMI Park in Melbourne (30,050 capacity), the other two group matches will take place at Sydney Football Stadium (42,512 seats) and Brisbane Stadium (52,263 seats). The final will be played at the 83,500 capacity Stadium Australia in Sydney.

The German national team play their first match at AAMI Park in Melbourne.


The Women's World Cup was first played in 1991, and this year sees the ninth edition of the tournament. The record world champions are the USA with four wins, followed by Germany with two World Cup victories. The other two competitions were won by Norway and Japan. The USA are also the only team to have reached the semi-finals in every tournament so far.

World Cup
Germany last won the World Cup in China in 2007.

Live broadcasts

The German broadcasters ARD and ZDF will show all matches in a live stream, and the important matches will also be shown on TV. The DFB team's matches against Morocco and South Korea will be shown on ARD, while ZDF will broadcast the match against Colombia. The final on 20 August can be seen on ZDF.

The group stage of the World Cup at a glance: 

Related news