Lewandowski, Flick and Neuer nominated for UEFA awards

Read article contents
Increase size

It could be the icing on the cake of an incredible season. Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer are among the final three nominees for the 2019/20 UEFA Men's Player of the Year award, alongside Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City). The Polish striker scored a staggering 55 goals in 47 games last season, and was top scorer in the Bundesliga, Champions League and the DFB Cup. Neuer kept six clean sheets on the way to Champions League victory and missed just one game across all competitions in 2019/20.


Flick nominated for Coach of the year

As well as Lewandowski and Neuer, another FCB man is in the running for an individual honour: Hansi Flick is on the three-person shortlist for Coach of the Year. The 55-year-old led Bayern to a treble with 21 wins in a row. Flick stands alongside two other German coaches: Jürgen Klopp (Liverpool) and Julian Nagelsmann (RB Leipzig).


Announcement on 1 October

The winners will be announced as part of the 2020/21 Champions League group stage draw on Thursday, 1 October in Nyon, together with the winners of the positional awards in the Champions League, which also feature plenty of Bayern stars.

Three more Bayern stars in the top 10

Thomas Müller (6th place), Thiago (8th) and Joshua Kimmich (9th) also finished in the top 10 in the vote. The shortlists were drawn up by a jury made up of the 80 coaches from the clubs that took part in the group stages of the UEFA Champions League (32) and the UEFA Europa League (48) in 2019/20, as well as 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group (one from each UEFA member association).

Find out which Bayern players have been nominated for the position awards here:

Related news