Seven Bayern players up for UEFA position awards

Read article contents
Increase size

On the back of the hugely successful 2019/20 campaign, FC Bayern have now dominated the nominees for this year’s UEFA Champions League player positional awards. These honour the best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and forward in the competition, with three players nominated per position. In total there are seven of FCB’s treble winners up for voting.

Neuer, Alaba, Davies, Kimmich, Müller, Thiago and Lewandowski nominated

The record champions have in fact claimed a clean sweep in the defender category, with David Alaba, Alphonso Davies and Joshua Kimmich the three nominees. Two FCB men are represented in midfield through Thomas Müller and Thiago, alongside Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne. In the goalkeeper section, captain Manuel Neuer is competing against Keyor Navas of Paris Saint-Germain and Atletico Madrid’s Jan Oblak. Champions League top scorer Robert Lewandowski is up for the forward award together with PSG duo Kylian Mbappe and Neymar.

Winners announced on 1 October

This year’s winners will be revealed alongside the UEFA Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year at the draw for the 2020/21 Champions League group stage on 1 October.

Bayern begin the defence of their titles with the opening Bundesliga match at home to Schalke on Friday night:

Related news