9 facts on Bayern's 9 league titles in a row

Read article contents
Increase size

There it is! After the match against FC Augsburg, FC Bayern were presented with the Meisterschale. For the 31st time in total Munich are the best football team in Germany, with 30 of the titles coming in the Bundesliga era. fcbayern.com has collected some facts about the club's ninth consecutive league title.

1. Record winners Alaba and Müller


Thomas Müller and David Alaba each celebrated their tenth German title, setting a new record in the Bundesliga. At just 28 years old, Alaba is the youngest player to ever do this.

2. Record-equalling run in Europe's top tiers

FC Bayern have equalled the record in Europe's top five leagues with their ninth league title in a row. So far, only Juventus in Italy's Serie A have also achieved this. However, their streak ended this season after their ninth title, with Inter Milan winning the 2020/21 Scudetto.

3. Neuer overtakes Kahn


Manuel Neuer becomes the first goalkeeper to win his ninth championship, overtaking Oliver Kahn (eight).

4. Strong core for the record run

Neuer is also part of the core of five players who have been present throughout each of these nine championships. In addition to Neuer, they are Alaba, Müller, Jérôme Boateng and Javi Martínez.

5. Martínez: He came to be champion!

The incredible streak began when Martínez joined Bayern in the summer of 2012. No other player in Bundesliga history has made appearances in so many campaigns and won the championship title in each one.

6. Coman: He was born to be champion!

His ninth championship title at the age of 24: an incredible career that has only just begun. Kingsley Coman has extended his streak of league titles. The winger has won the league in each season as a pro so far, sealing it with Paris Saint-Germain in 2013 and 2014, with Juventus in 2015 and with Bayern since 2016.

7. First Bundesliga title for a number of players


Alexander Nübel, Bouna Sarr, Tanguy Nianzou, Josip Stanisic, Christopher Scott, Marc Roca, Tiago Dantas, Leroy Sané and Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting celebrated their first Bundesliga title. Nianzou (2019/20) and Choupo-Moting (2018/19, 2019/20) won the Ligue 1 title with PSG. Sané won the Premiere League with Manchester City in 2017/18 and 2018/19.

8. FCB dominant in the Bundesliga

FC Bayern have won the league 30 times since the foundation of the Bundesliga in 1963, winning an average of 52% of the 58 campaigns.

9. Five stars adorning the chest

Their 30th Bundesliga title earned Bayern another star on the jersey. Five stars will gleam above the club crest on the home jersey from the coming season.

Find all the info you need on the league titles here:

Related news