FC Bayern's last six Supercup wins

Read article contents
Increase size

FC Bayern and the DFL Supercup - a real success story, especially in recent years. With nine titles, the Munich side are also the record winners in this competition. After the club's tenth Bundesliga title in succession, FCB will now contest their 11th Supercup in a row on Saturday at 20:30 CEST away at RB Leipzig. Ahead of the game, we look back at the last six Supercup triumphs  - celebrated with a special group photo:

2012: Start of the treble-winning season


This victory did wonders for the record champions' confidence. After Borussia Dortmund snatched the double of the league and DFB Cup from FCB the previous season, Philipp Lahm & Co. fought back. Bayern triumphed 2-1 in the Supercup after goals from Mario Mandžukić and Thomas Müller. At the end of the 2012/13 season, this legendary Bayern team celebrated the first treble in the club's history.

2016: Beginning of the Supercup run


After losing three Supercups in a row under coach Pep Guardiola, coach Carlo Ancelotti's team wanted it all the more this season. Again, the opponents were BVB, and again the game was played in Dortmund. Arturo Vidal and Müller both scored for a 2-0 away win that started a run of titles.

2017: Beginning of a photo tradition


The venue was Signal Iduna Park and BVB the opponents again at the beginning of the 2017/18 season. Compared to the previous year, this game was a rollercoaster ride with ups and downs, and the Munich team ultimately lifted the trophy after a 7-6 win on penalties. Dortmund were 2-1 up after goals from Christian Pulisic (1-0), Lewandowski (1-1) and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (2-1), and looked certain winners. But Bayern managed to equalise two minutes before the end, as Joshua Kimmich forced an own goal from Roman Bürki.

Goalkeeper Sven Ulreich became a hero in the penalty shootout, saving two spot-kicks to ensure the win for the Munich team. Vidal, Kimmich, Rafinha, Lewandowski, Müller and Franck Ribéry celebrated the victory with a now legendary photo that would be recreated in the years to come...

2018: Third title in a row


After a hat-trick from Lewandowski and goals from Kingsley Coman and Thiago, FCB and coach Niko Kovac won 5-0 at DFB Cup holders Eintracht Frankfurt. Just like the previous year, a winner's photo was taken after the final whistle - this time with the entire team!

2020: Successful revenge


After the 2-0 defeat in the 2019 Supercup, the Munich side took revenge the following year and beat BVB 3-2 - this time at their home Allianz Arena. The home win brought coach Hansi Flick's FCB their fifth title in the historic year 2020 - in the end it would be six! Corentin Tolisso and Müller scored for Bayern on the way to the eighth Supercup triumph, but Julian Brandt and Erling Haaland equalised for the guests - until Kimmich ensured victory with pure willpower. The FCB midfielder forced the ball over the line while falling over, eight minutes before the end.

2021: Ninth title in Der Klassiker


Last season's Supercup was once again Borussia vs. Bayern in Dortmund. And again, the winners were Bayern Munich! New coach Julian Nagelsmann's team gave a strong performance and won 3-1 after goals from Lewandowski (x2) and Müller. Marco Reus scored for BVB to make it 2-1. The new boss celebrated his first title and Bayern their ninth Supercup triumph. After the final whistle, Manuel Neuer & Co. revived the photo tradition and posed with the trophy in front of the crowd.

Will the team repeat the ritual after an win in Leipzig on Saturday? The 90 minutes will tell, but one thing is certain: Nagelsmann's team with newcomers Sadio Mané, Matthijs de Ligt & Co. want to win a third Supercup in a row and the tenth overall.

Sadio Mané was welcomed by Oliver Kahn, Hasan Salihamidžić and the team on Tuesday after being named Africa's Player of the Year:

Related news